ICC World Cup Sri Lanka squad announced; Karunaratne to lead, Dinesh Chandimal misses out

first_imgBefore Sri Lanka, five teams had announced their squad for the premier tournament. Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella were two big names to miss out. Karunarate has been named Sri Lanka captain. Here’s Sri Lanka’s 15-man squad for World Cup:D Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardena.Reserves: Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga, Angelo Perera.Here’s the tweet: New Delhi: The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced its 15-man squad for the World Cup, becoming the sixth team to do so and with a completely new captain in Dimuth Karunaratne, who hasn’t worn national colored jersey since 2015. The appointment was made public on Wednesday and the selectors met the skipper on Thursday to finalise the team. The big names to miss out are the former captain Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella who were the part of the team frequently since the 2015 World Cup.However, Angelo Mathews, the veteran, has returned after a long haul thanks to his injury issues. He last played in coloured clothing for his country in the Asia Cup on September 17. Apart from Mathews, Lahiru Thirmanne, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay and Jeevan Mendis has also made it to the squad. Lasith Malinga, whose retirement news surfaced only recently, has also been included. highlights For all the Latest Sports News News, ICC World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *